Skip to main content

SEDYTH-AC - Secondary Literacy 5-12


Official Name of Program

Secondary Literacy 5-12

Plan Code


Department(s) Sponsoring Program



Degree Designation

ADVCERPM - Advanced Certificate Post Master's



NYSED Program Code

33593 - SEDYTH-AC

CIP Code


Many teachers who already hold master’s degrees in Education desire certification in Secondary Literacy (5– 12). Teachers get incremental raises for a master’s plus additional credits. Further, teachers on sabbatical leave often want to take courses leading to a certification rather than random courses. This program was designed to meet all of these needs. The Post-Master’s Certificate Program in Secondary Literacy (5–12) is designed to offer an integrated, theoretically grounded view of literacy and literacy learning that addresses the needs of students and teachers in diverse communities. The literacy faculty focus on preparing graduate candidates for their careers as classroom teachers, interventional literacy teachers, clinicians, supervisors, and directors or coordinators of literacy in school districts. Graduates will be able to develop, implement, and evaluate literacy programs at schools and in agencies, and work with individual students and their families. Program faculty promote rigorous scholarship and research, contextualized learning and service in school and community settings. We encourage critical reflection on the role of literacy in society and about our responsibilities as educators. The QC secondary literacy program’s knowledge base and practices are consistent with International Literacy Association Standards (ILA/CAEP) and New York State regulations. Completion of the course work will lead to New York State certification as Literacy Specialist (formerly titled “Reading Teacher”). It is expected that all candidates completing the program of study will be recommended for and attain New York State certification as Literacy Specialists. The New York State Teacher Certification exams are required for certification in literacy, even for those who have passed other state examinations for prior certification.